Lessons Learnt

There are events that take place when we least expect them to. One of these is death. No one is fond of death, but truth is it is around us, every day, looks for a place to hit. It might not be someone we know at a personal level today but one day it will be. When it hits home, it hurts!.

I have lost quite a number of people i knew at a personal level. Some I talked to every day, some i did not but i knew them a lot. Some i used to hide and say i will say hello tomorrow, i am sure I’ll meet them again. Some i just thought of them and said i will video call them later or I’ll text them later. Sadly most of them i never got to text, meet and greet and video chat with them.

I really never knew how painful it was to lose someone that was close to you. I really did not quite understand the meaning of losing someone to death. I really did not know how someone felt when they lost someone until it happened to me. It is so devastating, the worst feeling ever.

But through it all I’ve learnt some life lessons because God had been teaching me some cool stuff. I’ve learnt not to procrastinate, I’ve learnt to text when i feel like i have to, i have learnt to call that person when they cross my mind, I’ve learnt to greet that person even when i bump into then 3 times in a day. I have learnt to love everyone in every way i can possibly can, i have learnt to try and make myself available for friends and family and even strangers. I have learnt to forgive those who hurt me and most importantly forgive myself for the messed up things i do sometimes and learn from those mistakes and be a better me.

Why? Because tomorrow is not promised. As much as we make plans for ourselves and others we tend to forget that Isaiah 55:8-9 tells us that His thoughts and ways are not ours. His are always higher. Through death God has shown us that there is a higher power above us, a power we can not escape. It’s a power that changes everything when it hits you. Of all the higher and best ways God has for us, death is one of the best because He will be calling us to Him. It will be time to trade the Cross for a Crown and be in that promised Mansion.

These are the lessons i have learnt in a way that we all can agree the hardest ways. I have also learnt that with the passing of a loved one (every time we lose someone) God is awakening to a real reality. The reality is, we have a citizenship of Heaven and here on earth we are just pilgrims.

All things work together for good (Rom 8:28). All things, not some but all. As long as we stick with God, in every circumstance we will know that God and Only God is enough. God is love and He loved us with an everlasting love, a love that never dies cause we have the Cross , we ought to love one another as well just like We love ourselves.

I pray that in every circumstance that you may be in right now, may you be enlightened to the goodness of God. Count it all Joy because there is a God given beauty in everything we go through.

Leave a comment