Today is enough trouble of its own, so why worry about tomorrow?


Matthew 6:34
Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil therefore.


Often times I found myself in a state of being unease. I fell into anxiety so fast that I forgot to acknowledge the Presence and importance of God in my life. I forgot that only God can satisfy. I forgot to apply the Scriptures that God has made known unto me through the Word and through other people, be it family or friends. My desire to be in control of my future was so strong that I spent hours thinking of how I was going to fix everything. I claimed I trusted God with my life but I still found myself wanting to be in control. Trust and control can never ever go hand in hand.

I worried about what I am going to be in the future, career wise, who I am going to be married to. I worried about what will happen if I mess up and everyone who believes in me will be broken. I wanted to be perfect for everyone and everything. I just did not want anyone to be disappointed because of me because I knew, still do how it feels to be disappointed by someone you believe in.

One particular day GOD exposed this side of me. I felt Him deep inside saying I needed to trust Him with my life. He cannot do anything new in me if I kept safe in a space of wanting to be in control. It was hard to just let Go of all these worries. I really wanted to hold on to them and make sure it works out. Crazy, isn’t it? How can I know more about my life that God? The bible clearly says He knew me before I was knit in my mother’s womb {Jer 1:5}. So how can I know?


God took me to Matthew 6: 25-34. The scripture talks of the birds of the earth, how they neither reap nor sow yet they do not even worry about what they will eat tomorrow or the day after. Why? God has made it clear to them that He will provide for them no matter what state or place they are in, God will always come through. I figured that birds have understood the necessity seasons. They have understood the word of God that they trust God in whatever season they are in. they don’t try to be in control of the future. They don’t fixate their mind on what might be but rather on what is, the now.


The other part talks of how flowers are dressed up by God himself. And the beautiful thing is God dresses them to be the most beautiful and colourful plants on Earth. Flowers don’t even think about it because they know God will show up.


As God was making this clear He said, whenever your mind is unease, whenever you are worrying and trying to be in control your mind is always fixed on negative outcomes. Haven’t I told you that you are to fix your minds on whatsoever things are true, honest, just, pure, lovely, of good report, things you have heard of me and seen me do. {Phil 4:8}. In simple terms fix your mind on me, always, everyday, lean on me.It is not easy, I said. Sometimes I pray and I still feel that you are far. He stopped me and said, “I am always there, closer than you know. Always been, always will. Take the first step, move and I will move with you.”


Dear friend, whatever you are going through right now God is right there. He is with you, He never left. He wants you to trust Him, make the move first and He will move as well. See, God won’t force you to trust Him with your life. He waits on you to open up and say the Words I TRUST YOU GOD. God has plans for you to prosper these thoughts don’t have a plan B. They do not air on the negative side, never. All His thoughts are positive always have been and always will be. Jer 29:11. Do not worry if you are going to pass your exams or not, get married or not, have a happy married life or not, be successful or not because the one who wrote your story made sure it was going to bloom and be the most beautiful life. Remember, that won’t happen if you keep being in charge of your future. All things will work out together for your good if you trust in Him. Rom 8:28

I understand if you feel like you are at the end now, God understands too. He felt it too through Jesus, His son. He will make a way out for you, He will part that sea, walk you through the valley of death and He won’t let any fire kindle you when you pass through flames. He has your back and He sure has your Future in His hands, safest place you can be.

God wants you to have peace, He doesn’t want you thinking about tomorrow. Pray about it Phil 4:6-7, even if it feels like He is far, He Is closer than your skin is to your bones. If He can do so much for the birds and plans of the earth, what more about you? The one He created in his own image. His breath lives in you. He loves more than you can imagine. He doesn’t want you worrying because He knows today is enough trouble of its own.

Leave a comment